February 23, 2020

The UK Commonwealth Shared Scholarships for low-Income Countries in 2020

These fully-funded Commonwealth Shared scholarships are open to students from low-income who desire to undergo a Master degree programme in selected courses in the UK.

This is made possible by the UK Department for International Development (DFID) which is focused on having international students gain skills and knowledge which will allow them to contribute to the development of their respective countries. These scholarships do not cover undergraduate courses, PhD study, or any pre-sessional English language teaching

Commonwealth scholarships

Value of Award


Basic Requirements

To be eligible for any of the Commonwealth Shared Scholarships in the UK, the applicant must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year
  • By October 2019, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree).
  • The CSC would not normally fund a second UK Master’s degree.
  • If you are applying for a second UK Master’s degree, you will need to provide justification as to why you wish to undertake this study.
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high-income country
  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship
  • Eligible Commonwealth countries: Bangladesh, Cameroon, Eswatini, The Gambia, Ghana, Guyana, India, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia.  


16.00 (GMT) on December 18, 2019.

How to Apply

To successfully apply for the UK Commonwealth Shared Scholarships for low-Income Countries, take note of the following:

  • Apply to study one of the taught Master’s courses offered in the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship scheme.
  • Secure admission to your course in addition to applying for a Shared Scholarship.
  • Check with your chosen university for their specific advice on when to apply, admission requirements, and rules for applying.
  • View a full list of university contact details.
  • Apply using the CSC’s online application system, in addition to any other application that you are required to complete by your chosen university. The CSC will not accept any applications that are not submitted via the online application system.
  • Please refer to the read-only Commonwealth Shared Scholarships for candidates 2019 – Sample Application Form as guidance before starting the online application form.
  • You can apply for more than one course and/or to more than one university, but you may only accept one offer of a Shared Scholarship


Leave a Reply